## MINUTES OF INTERNATIONAL YNGLING 2007 AGM 20/07/2006 Medemblik

1. Representatives, attendees and apologies;

Henrik Gravesen	President	DEN	
Huub de Haer	Vice President	NED	
Chris Harper	Secretary	AUS	
Rene Steimer	Treasurer	SUI	apology
Mattias Dahlstrom	Executive Secretary	SWE	
Bruce Chafee		USA	
Peter Hinrichsen	Chief Measurer	CAN	
Alan Reece		AUS	
Martha Henderson	WSC &	CAN	
Frederik Loppenthin		DEN	
Helene Huber		SUI	
Christoph Kohlschutter		SUI	
Martin Seiter		AUT	
Samuel Schano		AUT	
Thorsten Schutt		GER	
Augustinus Wolf		GER	
Beer Van Arem		NED	
Bostjan Antoncic		SLO	

- 2. The meeting was opened with condolences for Jan Herman Linge's Family and a moment for respect. Beer Van Arem was thanked for providing the meeting facilities.
- 3. Henrik Gravesen and Chris Harper were elected Chairman and Minutes Secretary.
- 4. The published Agenda was approved with adjustments for current issues.
- 5. The minutes of the 2006 AGM were formally adopted. GRE will apply for NYA status and the application will be handled by the EC.
- 6. The Chairman's Annual Report was approved.
- 7. Smidmore Yachting Services (Australia) and Petticrows (UK) became ISAF Yngling Licenced builders. Denmark questioned their prices and was assured that they would be competitive. The executive Secretary is to check with ISAF & Mader as to the actual number of Mader boats. Abbot is expected not to build Ynglings for the time being. The Chairman will speak about the incorrect weight spinnakers during General Business.
- 8. The Women's Sailing Committee (Martha Henderson) gave a verbal report covering the following;
  - a No formal meeting was held due to competition reasons.
  - b No minutes were recorded.
  - c The WSC issues from the last AGM are to be carried forward
  - The WSC requires a clear explanation of the fees to Women.
- 9. The Auditors Report was read and accepted.

The Chairman reported that due to the importance of the next ISAF meetings that costs may be higher than budgeted. The treasurer was thanked for his work and his report was also accepted.

- 10. The Executive Committee was discharged of it's duties for the year 2006.
- 11. Amendments to the Yngling Constitution and Class Rules. The President reported that many Class rule changes had to be made during the year, using EC authority, to be expeditious with ISAF. These are posted on the ISAF website. As quick decisions were

necessary a Special Paper was put forward for discussion. The meeting agreed that the EC had this authority and the paper was withdrawn.

However to answer concerns raised by SUI that rule changes by the EC will make old boats redundant were answered with the following

- 3 Pillars Policy for rule changes:
  - 1 to keep the boats safe
  - 2 to keep the costs low
  - 3 to keep all boats competitive

If any rule change has a serious impact on these pillars, the change will go to the AGM for approval. Concerns about what rules apply at championships can be provided by the EC as requested.

- 12. No amendments of the Championship rules were put forward in the allocated time.
- 13. No amendments of the Class rules were put forward in the allocated time.
- 14. 1 Canada requested that the Yngling magazine be replaced with an e-copy only. This was rejected however an e-copy will be posted on the Website. The website will now have e-news.
  - 2 Countries affected by money transfer problems (WSC) will be handled by the Executive Secretary.
  - 3 The new website will be online during the championship, Mattias and Chris were thanked for their efforts
- 15. Regattas 2007 WEC Warnemunde GER

2008 WWC Miami USA

2008 OSEC Riva del Garda ITA 7-10 May

2008 WEC Massnou ESP 31-5 Aug

2008 Youth Championships Skovshoved July3-5

2008 OWC Skovshoved July 6-12

2009 OWC & WWC Sweden

2010 OWC interest shown for Slovenia

2011 OWC interest shown for Attersee AUT

2012 OWC Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron AUS

- 16. Builders. Smidmore Yachting Services has a web address. Mader built 10 new boats for the Dutch Youth program. Borresen is building again and the Nautivella moulds have gone to Petticrow. No report from the USA DeWolf boats.
- 17. Membership fees will remain fixed to last years prices, however the Active member's fee is now per boat not per member of the boat.
- 18. Henrik Gravesen DEN was elected President for one year.

Huub de Haer NED was elected Vice President for one year.

Chris Harper was elected Honary Secretary for 2 years.

Rene Steimer will serve as Treasurer for his 2<sup>nd</sup> year.

Mattias Dahlstrom SWE will serve as Webmaster for his 2<sup>nd</sup> year.

Mattias Dahlstrom SWE was re-appointed as Executive Secretary

Auditors, Fasser and Leunenberger were re-appointed.

Chief Measurer Peter Hinrichsen was re-elected.

Technical Committee members are Jorgen Ring, Peter Schoberl, Bruce Ingalls, Peter Carter and Roel Schellaars. The CM's request for the ACM (Assistant Chief Measurer) be allowed voting rights at the TC meetings and the replacement of the Designer will be made by the EC. The request also for J.P.Marmier to join was heard. The President advised the meeting that the TC can get advice and assistance from any source that they think fit and that the TC should represent Regions where the Yngling is sailed.

19. The IYA representatives to the ISAF meetings are to be decided by the EC.

General Business the following was resolved:

Spinnakers -

- a We use a list of approved cloths as other classes do i.e. the Tornado
- b We keep the 38gsm nominal weight
- c Current spinnakers measured prior to the end of measurement period during the 2007WC can be used till the end of the next OWC.

Youth Committee

Alan Reece AUS spoke about the youth cruises in Denmark and Australia, which promotes youngsters into the class. As a result of this a Youth Committee is to be set up. Both Jorgen Ring DEN and Bryan Riddell AUS were commended for conducting the Youth Cruises.

- 20. The date for the next meeting is Friday the 4<sup>th</sup> July 2008 in Skovshoved.
- 21. The meeting was closed at 16:00.

*Thris Harper*Minutes Secretary